PAUL DRAPER – "Spooky Action" VÖ: 11.08.2017

/, Artists P-T, Releases, Top News/PAUL DRAPER – "Spooky Action" VÖ: 11.08.2017

PAUL DRAPER – "Spooky Action" VÖ: 11.08.2017

Album: Spooky Action
VÖ: 11.08.2017
Label: Kscope/Edel


PAUL DRAPER, der Frontmann der kultigen 90er Brit Pop Band MANSUN, veröffentlicht am 11.08. sein erstes Solo Album via Kscope.

Vorweg präsentiert Draper ein animiertes Video zum Track "Things People Want":


Pressemeldung zum Video:

Things People Want is a yearning love letter to an unobtainable everyday life that comes set inside four minutes of ultra-melodic, glistening synthetic soul. It is taken form Paul Draper’s first ever solo album – Spooky Action – which is released on 11th August. Spooky Action is Paul’s first collection of songs since Mansun’s posthumous 2004 release Kleptomania; a welcome return to form by the former frontman of one of the most iconic bands of the late ’90s/early ’00s. A trippy new animated video for Things People Want has been premiered on by Paul Draper. The clip was created by Dan W. Jacobs – a director who has previously made clips for acts as diverse as Metallica and Money.


Pressemeldung zum Album:

Formats: 3CD deluxe hardback book set / Gatefold 2 LP / CD /digital

Paul Draper was the frontman of Mansun – one of the most iconic bands of the late ’90s. Over the course of three albums (a fourth issued posthumously), they achieved something unique – after fostering a fervent cult following, they managed to maintain critical and commercial success with a series of intensely radio friendly yet increasingly experimental records. Off the back of their biggest radio record, Mansun imploded in 2003 and Paul all but disappeared from view.

Released on Kscope on August 11th, Spooky Action is the result of a decade of thinking, tinkering, writing, recording and focusing.

Lyrically, it’s biting and brutally honest – an autobiography set to captivating, addictive melody across eleven songs that peak then peak again, then peak again. Taking its cue from 2016’s two EP releases and recorded in collaboration with Catherine AD (the Anchoress) and long time Mansun collaborator PDub, The record’s eleven tracks veer from warped voodoo psych (Don’t Poke the Bear) to glistening synthetic soul (Things People Want); from warped, razor wire rock’n’roll (Grey House) to glorious widescreen analogue pop music (Jealousy Is A Powerful Emotion). Collectively, they represent Paul’s strongest, most consistent set of songs to date – half a lifetime’s work condensed into just over an hour of perfectly formed music.

Spooky Action tracklisting:

1.     Don’t Poke The Bear
2.     Grey House
3.     Things People Want
4.     Who’s Wearing The Trousers
5.     Jealousy Is A Powerful Emotion
6.     Friends Make The Worst Enemies
7.     Feeling My Heart Run Slow
8.     You Don’t Really Know Someone ‘Til You Fall Out With Them
9.     Can’t Get Fairer Than That
10.   Feel Like I Wanna Stay
11.   The Inner Wheel

Paul Draper online:

Official site: